Tennesseetransitions


With a cluck, cluck here and a cluck, cluck there…
March 17, 2012, 9:07 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

   Oh, today was magnificent! Between the beautiful weather and getting a new flock of  hens, I am in heaven! These pictures were taken in dappled  shade so they’re not very clear, but I so wanted to show off ‘the girls’ that I took them as soon as I got them settled in their new digs late this afternoon.

   But this blog isn’t meant to simply show off my chickens;     it’s my attempt to offer ideas that might help others transition to a new way of living that’s significantly more connected, more vibrant and more fulfilling than the one we find ourselves in today. Now is the time for us to take stock and to start re-creating our future in ways that are not based on cheap, plentiful and polluting oil but on localized food, sustainable energy sources, resilient local economies and an enlivened sense of community well-being.  And honestly, how much more local does food get than from your own backyard or neighborhood? As a vegetarian, eggs are an important source of protein for me as well as a valuable barter commodity. That’s where the ‘resilient local economy’ part comes in for me. If I have eggs to trade for, say,  your pecans, we then are both able to afford the best that money can’t buy with such a trade AND that makes us both more resilient, regardless of the Dow, the elections, the price of gas or anything else that may be affecting our ability to provide for ourselves and our families. As if THOSE weren’t enough reasons, the birds’ manure is an incredibly rich source of nitrogen for my compost piles, which then of course, enriches my garden soil, which the garden plants take up, which end up on my dinner table with the unused bits fed back to the chickens.  My intention with this flock is to try to find or grow sources of food for them that don’t depend on ‘store bought’ (read: OIL). I love the closed loop that their existence creates here on my little small holding; it’s called ‘sustainable’ and it’s something I strive for constantly, but often without success in its truest sense. But with this beautiful rooster to fertilize the eggs, sustainable is obtainable!

Hey! How'd that pink flamingo get in there???

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

