Tennesseetransitions


Avoiding the subject
June 10, 2012, 9:38 PM
Filed under: Uncategorized

Even though they are the very premise behind this blog, I find myself shying away lately from the subjects of Peak Oil, Climate Change and Globalization. I am finding it difficult to write about those topics with a vision of a positive alternative to our present reality, and that is precisely what I intended to offer to you when I began this exercise. By now we’ve all become aware of the issues, so my vision is  not to hash them out over and over, but “to offer ideas for creating a way of living that is significantly more connected, more vibrant and more fulfilling than the one we find ourselves in today. Now is the time for us to take stock and to start re-creating our future in ways that are not based on cheap, plentiful and polluting oil but on localized food, sustainable energy sources, resilient local economies and an enlivened sense of community well-being.” 

I  know many of us often find life hard enough without having some eccentric woman filling our  in-boxes and nightmares with negative thinking. But I’m determined to present POSITIVE alternatives, albeit in tiny  bites, with this blog. Gandhi is quoted as  saying: “First they ignore you. Then they laugh at you. Then they fight you. Then you win.” Armed with that quote, I am going to begin a sharper focus on solutions to these troubling issues that we all face. Some think life will degenerate to a zombie apocalypse, others are convinced it will boil down to ‘God and Guns’, and still others think that maybe, just maybe, technology will save us all. I think the answers lie within us and that we can recreate our collective futures. So, rather than avoiding the subjects, I plan to focus more on them. I hope you’ll share this blog with everyone you can think of. We’re all in this together!



Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

