Tennesseetransitions


TMI
March 30, 2013, 10:08 PM
Filed under: Global Warming, Herbs | Tags: , , ,

Destroyed by MTV,
I hate to bite the hand that
Feeds me so much information
The Pressure’s on the screen
To sell you things that you don’t need
It’s too much information for me

Duran Duran – from the song, Too Much Information, 1993.

This was a hit song twenty years ago. I didn’t even own a computer then and had no idea that today the Internet would be such a big part of my life. I never have watched much TV, but the modern-day miracle of the world-wide web has allowed me to “take a trip and never leave the farm”. It is my go-to source for everything from recipes to world news to this blog. This weeks’ massive global cyber attack caused me some minor irritations, while I was also dealing with some major computer hassles due to problems with my virus protection software. Not a good combination on yet another coldish, gray day at the end of this long-ass winter. But you know what? Because I couldn’t get to Word Press to write this post, and because I was running an hours-long scan on my system, I was forced (oh no!) to do other things with my time. Here’s what I did instead:

  • Visited a friend who sent me home with potted herb plants and fresh cut arugula
  • Went to my tai chi class AND worked out in the gym
  • Cooked a delicious slooww food meal and used the arugula, along with lettuce and kale from my raised bed, to make a fine salad to go with it
  • Finished reading my library book
  • Made a big bowl of popcorn and watched an old VHS movie-yes VHS!  (as part of my ongoing effort to declutter and get rid of stacks of them that are taking up valuable real estate in my den, I’m rewatching all the oldies before making a decision on what to keep, and what to get rid of-it’s a tough job but somebody’s gotta do it. Watch for them soon on Freecycle!)
  • Took the dog for a walk
  • Dreaming of summer, I hemmed a pair of shorts
  • Walked down to the community garden just to see how everyone’s plot looked
  • Made phone calls to some of my mom’s old friends in Florida and Alabama
  •  Practiced music pieces that Michael and I are working on for upcoming events
  • Meditated

computer_man

Because I ended up having SUCH a fine day sans computer yesterday, I decided today was another opportunity to disconnect from my virtual online life. So this morning I visited another friend, ran lots of small errands I’d been putting off for two weeks, enjoyed seeing more friends that stopped by to visit us, did some house work, cut the grass, straightened up the tool shed, met even more friends at a new-to-us-restaurant for dinner tonight, practiced our music again, worked on my ‘brain games’ and now, here I am, sitting in front of the computer that is, once again, behaving ‘normally’, and enjoying writing again, while wondering where the line crosses between enjoyment and TMI.

I’ve been feeling pretty blue lately, blaming it on the lousy weather, personal grief, and this weeks’ bleak news of Monsanto’s Protection Act victory, more climate change denial from lawmakers and those hell-bent on the X#%##%*!L Pipeline, the fragile European banking system, North Korea rattling their sabres and more. And that was just THIS WEEK in the news! I’ve decided to go on a news fast. I’m feeling powerless and hopeless and I don’t function well when I feel this way. So, a big “Thank You” to the cyber attackers for helping me overcome my internet and news addiction. It lifted my funk and brought me a renewed awareness and appreciation for all I have to be thankful for. The break also helped me to refocus on the very intent of this blog, which is to discover ways for you to unplug from mainstream assumptions about learning and living, disconnect from the artificial process of life and discover the freedom and joy in learning and living more authentically within your community and without overwhelming you. Let me know if it ever becomes ‘TMI’, ok?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

