Tennesseetransitions


First World Problems
September 11, 2013, 4:48 PM
Filed under: Cancer, Resilience | Tags: ,

Even though I’m currently a full-time caregiver for hubby  Michael, a lot of his healing time is spent sleeping, giving me more time than usual to devote to quieter activities such as reading, writing, and gardening. The unexpected gift of time has found me moving more slowly through my days, and developing a keener awareness of what’s most important in my life. (By the way, if anyone ever tells you that cancer is a ‘gift’, don’t believe it. That’s crap!) One of the things that I’ve grown fond of saying (and weary of at the same time) is: “Well, at least I don’t have cancer!”. It makes the things I consider whine-worthy seem ‘not so’ when I say that out loud. A trend I’ve recently become aware of is that we have a unique set of problems in our country that are being labeled “First World Problems”. There are complete web sites, stand up comic routines and even a TV show devoted to the ridiculous ‘problems’ we lucky First Worlders experience. Here’s an example:

690

Some days, and today is one of them, I simply have to laugh to keep from crying. Here are a few ‘problems’ I read about while doing a quick online search:

From today’s local newspaper: “Man reports pistol and briefcase with $2,500 stolen from unlocked vehicle in Roan Mountain”

Copied from the internet: “I went to go babysit for an hour and the kids didn’t even  know what their own wi-fi password was.”

And here are some I’ve said myself. Read ’em, put them into their proper context, and weep.

“The tag on my new shirt is really bugging me”

“My laptop is dying but my charger is all the way upstairs”

“The elevator isn’t working?!!!”

“I ate too much!”

“I need to simplify my life.”

“I need to declutter my stuff.”

“I have too many tomatoes.”

Ahhh, that last one gave me an idea:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWe’ll see if they’re  gone from the front steps by the end of the day.

What, pray tell, does all this have to do with Transitioning? I don’t know to be honest, but there’s a tie-in here, I’m sure of it. My ‘About Tennessee Transitions‘ page says:

“If we collectively plan and act early enough, we can create a way of living that’s significantly more connected, more vibrant and more fulfilling than the one we find ourselves in today. Now is the time to take stock and to start re-creating our future in ways that are not based on cheap, plentiful and polluting oil but on localized food, sustainable energy sources, resilient local economies and an enlivened sense of community well-being. This blog is simply about my attempts to visualize and help create that new way of living!”

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey, I’ll trade you some of my green peppers for some of your tomatoes. I am green pepper rich!

Comment by Kae Robbins

That would be GREAT Kae! Bring it on!!!

Comment by simpleintn

Love this post today, Sam. Hang in there, girl. Keep laughing. You are amazing.

Comment by Jennifer

You are right, Sam; if cancer is a gift, how come we all don’t want it? We all love gifts. Then there’s the blame-game – God gave me this cancer. Same thing; God didn’t give it – the thief comes to steal, kill & destroy. I’ve noticed that about the sleeping angle, but now I’d like to do more of it. I’m glad you are able to see all the brightness in each day – makes it easier on both of you. A merry heart is good medicine.

Comment by Anne Whittemore

Thoughts and prayers for you both.  An excellent post for helping us all keep things in perspective and think about what we can do besides lamenting things over which we have little control. Sally

Comment by Sally and Jerry Nagel




Leave a Reply

