Tennesseetransitions


Loco for Local
October 31, 2013, 4:52 PM
Filed under: Climate Change, Growing Food, Local Food, mulch, Resilience, Seed Saving, Sustainability | Tags: ,

I attended a lecture last night at Emory and Henry College given by Gary Nahban, a renowned scientist and local foods pioneer. He explained that with the challenges that climate change presents for gardeners, farmers and ranchers, there are ‘best practices’ that are being developed and already being used (in the Southwest) to address those challenges. Practices like building greater moisture-holding capacity and nutrients in soil, (by adding compost and organic matter) protecting our gardens and fields from damaging winds, drought and floods by planting trees, harvesting rainwater, and creating swales and raingardens, reducing heat stress on crops and livestock and, selecting fruits, nuts, succulents and herbaceous perennials that are best suited to a warmer, drier climate can all be used to coax production and increase sustainability. One other thing that he is a big proponent of is seed saving. Seeds saved from plants that have been isolated from other varieties like it and that produced healthy offspring without being coddled during their production periods are going to be the best candidates. Seed saving is a radical resilience idea by the way, something I’ve written about ad nauseum in this blog.

I’ve been thinking about handing out little packets of Hopi Orange Lima Bean seeds tonight, right along with the little candy bars, to my Trick or Treaters. The seeds are not only beautiful, they just happen to be Halloween colors! So, what do you think? Have I gone completely ‘loco for local’ with this idea?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’ve long been fascinated with these beans, because I happen to believe the Native Americans knew what the hell they were doing and all we need to do is relearn what they figured out long ago to continue to thrive on this warming planet, while using fewer resources to do it. The plants are extremely drought and heat resistant and when dried, can be ground for flour too. The flour can then be used to dredge tasty little goblins in before adding to the kettle:

hallowween

Happy Halloween Ya’ll! Stay safe tonight!

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Local for the witch’s’ stew, that’s funny! If you decided to give the seeds, tell us what people said, maybe parents that were with the kids? I hope you get some good reaction from that.

Comment by sarasinart

We only had 3 trick or treaters 😦 and they were a trio of too-old-to-be-trick-or-treating kids that I felt would toss the seeds down the street -no parents with them) so I didn’t want to waste the seeds that way. Maybe next year. My friend had 673 kids ring her bell!

Comment by simpleintn

Oh yea, seeds should only be given to those who will use them. Yea, maybe next year.

Comment by sarasinart

Wish I was trick-or-treating at your place! Those beans are GREAT! And I love the cartoon…that’s too funny!

Comment by Cassa

Love the idea, and the cartoon. My kids coulda done with some seeds. Go Sam.

Comment by The Janus boys

We only had 3 trick or treaters 😦 and they were a trio too-old-to-be-trick-or-treating kids that I felt would toss the seeds down the street (no parents with them) so I didn’t want to waste the seeds that way. Maybe next year. My friend that just moved to the Tree Streets in Sept had 673 kids ring her bell! Whew! Yeah, I loved the cartoon too.

Comment by simpleintn

I hope you don’t mind me mentioning your blog on one of mine, talking about self sufficiency vs complacency. I mention it cos your ideas are great!

Comment by sarasinart

Of course I don’t mind! Thank you so much for linking to me, that’s why I write it-to share!

Comment by simpleintn

And your thoughts are so good, I had to say so!

Comment by sarasinart




Leave a Reply

