Tennesseetransitions


One Potato, Two Potato, Three Potato, Fifty!
May 13, 2014, 9:06 PM
Filed under: Bulk Buying | Tags:

A couple of months ago all my stored potatoes that I’d grown last year ran out or rotted. So what’s a thrifty potato lover to do when it’s late winter and potatoes are selling for $1 a pound? Buy them in bulk!  I ran across a fifty pound bag for $8.00 and decided I’d try to get as much mileage as I could out of it before they rotted too. I used the last of them today and only had two in the whole bag go bad. Compost.

potatoes

I’m always thinking of things I might write about on this blog, so once I brought the bag home I decided to keep track of the different ways I used the bounty, so that I could share with you, you lucky devil, the incredibly diverse ways one can serve a potato. Several of these meals were shared with company, and several were repeated too, not so much because I felt the need to use the potatoes up quickly, but because the dishes were good, and (mostly) healthy. And frugal. Did I mention  forty cents a pound?

Eat your ❤ out:

  • Shepherd’s Pie
  • Potato, Carrot and Cabbage Stew
  • Garden Potato Medley (it’s a warm potato salad that includes beans and veggies)
  • Veggie Stock (used potatoes in place of turnips)
  • Tex-Mex Potatoes
  • Pan-Fried Potatoes
  • Baked Potatoes
  • Twice-Baked Potatoes (OMG!)
  • Eggs and Hash Browns
  • Burritos with Beans, Diced Potatoes, Salsa and Guacamole
  • Herb-Roasted potatoes
  • Potato and Pinto Bean Soup
  • Buttered potatoes simmered with fresh green beans
  • Perogies
  • Potato Salad
  • Potatoes and Spinach in Garlic-Red Chili Sauce
  • Aloo Gobi (an Indian dish that has cauliflower and tomatoes)
  • Mashed Potatoes with Milk-gravy
  • Potato Cakes (made from the leftover mashed)
  • Potato Latkes (at Passover)
  • Potato/Leek Soup
  • Oven ‘Steak’ Fries
  • Curried Potatoes
  • Gave my daughter 5 lbs
  • Donated a bag to the local food pantry

I’m kind of glad they’re gone now. I’ve got potatoes planted in my garden and I should be digging around for those first tender, papery-skinned red ones real soon. It was a fun ‘challenge’ for me to use the bag up without resorting to potato juice or potato eye soup or something equally disgusting.

And now, a poem:

One potato, two potato, three potato, four

Using 50 pounds, you’ll want no more!

Cook ’em in the oven

Or cook ’em in the crock

At forty cents a pound

They’ll keep you out of hock!

 

 

 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

You are a treasure, my friend. All spudded out…love your blog, I just don’t tell you enough.

Comment by Rosemary Kleske

Thanks Rosemary ❤

Comment by simpleintn

Wow you just me a couple good ideas, things I hadn’t thought about making for a while. Hmm, potatoes and spinach in garlic, red chili sauce…..never heard of it, but it sounds good! You always have the best ideas and thanks for sharing so many of them!

Comment by sarasinart

Hope you’re enjoying your own taters this week. I’m in the middle of my next post and was thinking of you…somehow I didn’t see this comment until now. Hope your holiday weekend is wonderful.

Comment by simpleintn

I don’t plant taters but they wouldn’t be ready till August here if I did. We’re waaaay up yonder where it’s colder, lol. Have a great weekend too, good weather and some fun stuff I hope!

Comment by sarasinart




Leave a Reply

