Tennesseetransitions


A Zucchini a Day Keeps the Doctor Away
July 12, 2014, 3:28 PM
Filed under: Healthy food, Local Food | Tags: , ,

I do believe my zucchini have done better this summer than ever before. So well in fact, that I’m giving them away, drying them to add to winter soups and stews, making flavored chips and now-finally!- I’ve discovered some easy and great tasting new recipes. I wanted to share them with you because they both can be made in a few minutes and for just a few cents if you’re growing most of the ingredients. 

Here’s the first: 

Zucchini Parmesan Sammiches

Zucchini Sammiches

From The Moosewood Cookbook:

2 cups diced fresh zucchini

1/2 cup minced onion

1 clove crushed garlic

1/2 tsp. chopped basil

1/2 tsp. chopped oregano

2 Tbs. olive oil

salt, pepper

Fresh tomato slices

1/2 cup freshly-grated parmesan

Saute’ onion and garlic, with salt, basil and oregano, in olive oil until onion is translucent. Add zucchini and saute’ until soft. Spread onto lightly browned toast, topped with thin slices of tomato and a sprinkling of fresh parmesan. (I didn’t have any fresh parmesan, so just used what the ‘canned’ variety. It didn’t melt as well but tasted good nonetheless. Use what you have . This one should be broiled, not grilled. Parmesan loves to broil. And I loved these sammiches!

And here’s a recipe for Savory Zucchini Cakes, from a post that  I made last July:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

https://tennesseetransitions.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/z-cakes-and-chow-chow/

In my opinion, nothing, I mean NOTHING compares to putting an organic, made-from-scratch, grown-in-my-own-garden, meal on the table! The satisfaction of producing one’s own food in a globalized world speaks not only to my environmental consciousness; sharing with you the growing, gardening, cooking and preservation of all that home-grown goodness gives me a sense of connection to my roots and to my community. YOU’RE my community. Thank you! Hope you enjoy your weekend friends! I’m off to the ribbon cutting of my city’s new “Founder’s Park”. It’s a beautiful park, with art, and rushing water and lots of green space-and it’s an 8 minute walk from home. Here’s a pic:

park

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Sam the zucchini cakes recipe was no longer available! Can you repeat it? I have LOTS of them needing a purpose!

Comment by Deanna

Sorry Deanna-the link has been repaired!

Comment by simpleintn

I love zucchini! I have a great zucchini relish recipe; often I grate zucchini to substitute for lettuce on a sandwich, and frequently use as a “filler” in recipes. Last night I made SOS, and added grated zucchini. I agree, Sam, making a meal off what I’ve grown is VERY satisfying!

Comment by Anne Whittemore

Opps! I found the recipe! 🙂

Comment by Deanna

I am definitely growing some zucchini next year. I can buy them locally grown here now, and inexpensive, but next year I’ll be pickin’ them instead of buyin’ them! That park looks amazing. Hope you had a great time!

Comment by sarasinart

You can also puree zucchini and freeze it for a soup base in the winter. All I do is put it through the food processor, pour the liquid into jars (leaving substantial “head” room) and freeze it. Then in the winter I make large pots of soup with it, tomato puree, fava beans (or other beans), potatoes, carrots, whatever greens are available (parsley, celery, kale, collards, etc.) a little salt, cayenne, and whatever herbs preferred. It’s totally yummy and very inexpensive.

Comment by Sandy Aldridge




Leave a Reply

