Tennesseetransitions


Jimmy started all of this…
August 27, 2014, 9:51 PM
Filed under: Adapting to Change, Canning, Resilience | Tags: , ,

What got me to thinking about Jimmy Carter was hearing that this weekend he’s going to be a keynote speaker at a Muslim convention in Detroit. The man deserved his Nobel is all I can say! Now back to the topic at hand…

I’ll admit it. My zest for canning, drying, freezing and fermenting has changed over the years from a casual experiment  into a  complete lifestyle change. The first time I slipped hot green beans into a sterilized jar, screwed a metal lid and band on it, and then ate those late summer beans months later at Christmas, my now-40-year old daughter was a newborn, and I was hooked on canning!

Three years later Jimmy Carter became President and just two weeks into his new presidency he began hosting his ‘Fireside Chats’ while wearing a Mr. Rogers cardigan sweater, as he sat by the fireplace in the West Wing of the White House. Those chats encouraged us Americans to use less energy, and told us how important it was to have an energy policy that focused on conserving the nation’s natural resources.

carter I liked and admired President Carter very much but his message, along with an inflation rate of 20% (!) and a stock market that lost 40% of its’ value in 18 months time was pretty damn scary to me. So, what does a young mother of four little girls do when faced with the war in Vietnam that was in its’ 19th year, Russians standing in long, long lines to get extremely scarce toilet paper, ( I don’t remember why), all while living 600 miles from her nearest relative? Besides stocking up on toilet paper, I began growing food. And canning it. It gave me a sense of self-sufficiency and control over that scary world. Some things never change I guess. 37 years later, we still don’t have that national energy policy, and I’m still keeping our scary world at bay by keeping plenty of TP and beans on hand.

Studies show that people focus more on material things when they feel insecure, and I was certainly insecure as a too-young mom. I’m happy to say that I feel more secure at this stage of my life than I ever have, but I still continue to grow and preserve as much as I can. I’m certain there are still security issues hidden in there somewhere, but by this time, I consider it normal. We all have our ‘issues’ I guess, but if growing food, having a fully stocked pantry, and living by the belief that ‘we are what we eat’ is an ‘issue’ for me, I think it’s a good one to have. Michael was exposed to Listeria earlier this summer due to peaches that were later recalled-oops! and that experience, along with his colon cancer, has certainly made both of us more conscious than ever of how important food is to our health, both mental and physical. Jimmy Carter must be doing something right too-he’ll be 90 years old on October 1st and he’s still building habitats, growing peanuts, and teaching peace. God love him.

why-do-we-can-so-much

 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Great post, and such a good life style change you made. When we’re young sometimes we do what we have to do. When we get older, hopefully we can get to a place where we can see what really needs done. Maiden, mother, crone.

Comment by sarasinart

Sometimes the titles to your posts make me laugh out loud! Then I dive right in and realize how well they fit the content.
So many things have changed in the last 40 years yet many are still the same. Probably, the thing that has changed the most is my own outlook. Wish I had known back then what I know now!!! But no one would have listened, just like Jimmy!

Comment by Karen in East TN

Love and laughed about the TP and the beans. I remember our early canning experiences. I also have a stockpile of both. My parents had no veggie garden and I learned from you. I thank you for that. I remember the conservation messages from Jimmy Carter as well. Love reading your blog.

Comment by Jenny Justice




Leave a Reply

