Tennesseetransitions


Frugal Friday- Feb. 13, 2015
February 13, 2015, 7:59 PM
Filed under: Frugality | Tags: , , , , ,

On this evening before Valentine’s Day I’m realizing I haven’t bought my Valentine a card or gift. No worries! Every day is Valentine’s Day with this man and we truly do try to show our love all day, every day. I will mark the day though, by baking him something special… he loves apple/cranberry tarts and I’ve got some fresh apples that I need to use up anyway. I’ll send him an E-Card too, professing my undying love. We are part of a good friend’s CD release party tomorrow night at a local coffee house, and so perhaps we’ll celebrate the occasion there with some hot chai topped with whipped cream. We’re perfect for one another because neither of us has ever felt the need to BUY SOMETHING to show our love.

With that thought though, I will tell you how much I love getting the best deals I can when I do have to buy something. Now that makes me a happy Valentine ❤

Monday: I decided to start some more sprouts for adding to salads and sandwiches. 2 T. of seeds makes almost a pint full, for about 25 cents worth of seeds. They taste sooo fresh this time of year, are super easy to do, and heart healthy to boot, fitting in with the Valentine heart theme this week. ❤

20150204_115214[1]Tuesday: Continuing along with the ‘heart healthy’ Valentine theme, I tried a new recipe, called “Butternut Buttermilk Pancakes”. We grow lots and lots of butternut squashes each summer and I’m always on the lookout for new ways to use them. THIS was so good, so easy and so frugal, it will make  repeat appearances on our table long after Valentine’s Day has passed I’m sure! ❤

pancakes

Butternut Squash Buttermilk Pancakes

-Prep your squash by peeling 1 small butternut and dice into cubes (about 1 1/2-2 cups. ) Boil in water until tender. Drain and mash with a fork. You want at least 1 cup of mashed squash. I used about 1 1/2.

In a large bowl, mix the dry ingredients:
1 1/2 cups of flour (3/4 cups of each white and wheat flour is nice)
1 teaspoon of baking powder
1 teaspoon of baking soda
1 teaspoon of salt
2 tablespoons of brown sugar
1 teaspoon of cinnamon

-Separate 2 eggs and beat the yolks in a bowl with 1 and 3/4 cups of buttermilk
**If you don’t have buttermilk on-hand you can perform a quick substitution by adding 1 tablespoon of lemon juice to milk or by mixing 1 cup yogurt with 3/4 cup milk.

-Pour egg and buttermilk into the dry ingredients and mix until combined. Pour in 6 tablespoons of melted butter. Mix again.

-Fold in butternut squash mash.

-Heat griddle and brown pancakes on each side. Make sure you don’t rush it and cook the cakes through because they tend to take a little longer than regular pancakes.

-Keep warm in the oven and serve with butter and maple syrup!

My notes: Save those egg whites and plan to use them in a skillet of scrambled eggs or some baked goods. I don’t heat up my big 220 volt oven just to ‘keep them warm’. But I do put them in my insulated tortilla warmer to stay warm until the whole batch is cooked. Saving electricity is always a money saver!

Vasconia-Tortilla-Warmer

Wednesday: Speaking of saving electricity… I recently went to the website for my local power company to take a free online energy evaluation survey of my home. Here’s the link: http://energyright.com/residential/online_energy_eval.html  And for doing this, I was sent a free kit of energy saving products, including two compact fluorescent bulbs, a package of switch and outlet sealers, 2 flow restrictors that screw on the end of faucets, an indoor stick on thermometer and more! It arrived this day and made my heart happy  ❤

20150203_155140[1]

Now, even though this has nothing to do with Valentine’s Day, the other thing that happened on Wednesday was that Michael and I got to play music live on WMMT community radio in Whitesburg, KY with two of our dear friends to promote their latest CD. The show was two hours long and we had so much fun! We played, told jokes and discussed with the sweet DJ (in tie dye shirt below) all the ways that folk in Central Appalachia are working to improve their communites. Community and market gardening, teaching and playing the region’s traditional music, making traditional crafts, cooking traditional foods-these are just some of the ways that we’re all working towards preserving our health, environment, heritage and culture. And that is priceless… ❤

20150211_145253[1]

Thursday: We had company over for supper and so I made a big pot of soup, a huge salad, Michael made fresh loaves of bread, and they brought a vegan chocolate cake! But here’s the best part…we actually had some of our grown-last-summer Longkeeper tomatoes that have been stored away in low boxes under the bureau  to add to the salad. Fresh home grown tomatoes in February? Yessss! Heart-healthy and red as any valentine! ❤

20150107_171200[1]

Friday: Today I used the first of two $10 off $40 coupons I’ve received from the new Aldi’s in town. We stocked up on everything from Fair Trade coffee to organic sugar, and stocked up the shelves in my pantry, you know, in case the zombies come. This too made my heart happy ❤

20150212_160453[1]

Here’s hoping your Valentine’s Day is simply heart healthy and happy, in whatever way you choose to honor the day.  ❤

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Have a great Valentine’s Day, after another good week! Tomatoes in February, hmm, I wish! I did one of those energy surveys from our electric company years ago and they sent me packages of free goodies similar to yours for 3 years and I loved it. I’m lovin me some Aldi, cos my almost DIL took me there last week. 11 days till I should be able to drive, oh yes I am counting. Have a good weekend, music and fun!

Comment by sarasinart

Nancy, hope you’re not getting more snow and that it’s all gone by the time you can drive again. Hope too that you’re pain free and that your cat is enjoying all of the good companionship he must be receiving! Love Aldi’s too. It’s not perfect, but we really needed this alternative here. I love their European model…other stores best take note.

Comment by simpleintn

It’s giving us an inch or so right now, and hateful cold nights the next couple, and a high of 10 tomorrow, daytime. The shoulder doesn’t hurt but bearing the weight on my neck and back is an issue. Aldi…ahh, I love it. It’s being a big hit here too, I talked to the manager and it’s good. We needed an alternative too, especially this one. Have a fun weekend!

Comment by sarasinart

[…] Frugal Friday- Feb. 13, 2015 […]

Pingback by Frugal Friday- Feb. 19, 2015 | Tennesseetransitions

[…] Frugal Friday- Feb. 13, 2015 […]

Pingback by Frugal Friday- February 27, 2015 | Tennesseetransitions




Leave a Reply

