Tennesseetransitions


Plant Seeds of Understanding

After a full day of hearing a sermon about social injustice, singing and hearing songs about it, and then watching a documentary about the problems immigrants to our country face, I felt compelled to ‘do something’, beyond writing my legislators- yet again. This post is the result of this emotional day.

It’s occurred to me that, like the Earth, the 2016 Presidential race is already heating up too. In anticipation of the differences of opinion I’m sure to encounter during the next 17 months, I have already set my intention to refrain from becoming crass or nasty with anyone, regardless of their political persuasion, during the upcoming election season. With the increased use of social media and internet availability, I suspect that my personal exposure to mud slinging could result in getting some mud in my own eyes. But ‘an eye for an eye’ won’t change anyone’s beliefs, so I’ve come up with a plan that I’d like to share with my readers. Feel free to use it in any way you like…

In order to stay true to my personal mission of spreading peace and (food) justice in the world by sharing gardening with anyone that wants to learn, (even Republicans haha!)  I’m making up some seed packets to share whenever tempers flare or voices rise. I’m calling them ‘Seeds of Understanding’ and I hope that the packets will serve to temper those differences with their gentle humor and a shared love of natural beauty. This isn’t an easy task for me because, as you probably already know if you’re a regular reader of this blog, I’m opinionated at best, and  ‘right’ at my worst.

20150531_102715[1]

The packets will be light enough to carry several in my purse or easily mailed for the price of a stamp. Heck, I’ll even give you one whether we disagree or not, as long as you’ll promise to plant your own ‘seeds of understanding’. May the best man, or woman, win.

“Every time I plant a seed, He say kill it before it grow, He say kill it before they grow”~ Bob Marley


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I think you should run for president, cos you always make sense, and you do what you said you’d do. Wish we could say that about more of our politicians and political leaders. This is a great idea!

Comment by sarasinart

HUSH your mouth woman! No politics for me!

Comment by simpleintn

Sorry, ok, then just keep making sense and others will follow in non-political ways!

Comment by sarasinart

Well darn it Sam,

Can we disagree on something? I would love to get some seeds:)

Sara

Ps. Great idea.

Comment by Sara

Sara I’ll have some in my car and will drop some off to you next time I’m in your area.

Comment by simpleintn

I’m just teasing sweet friend! I need more seeds like a hole in my head:)

Just saying I agree w you on most things although sometimes I feel less committed to the cause. Which mostly stems from hopelessness I think. A personal problem.

Hope you and Michael are doing well. I’m sure I’ll bump into you.

Comment by Sara




Leave a Reply

