Tennesseetransitions


My Lucky Break
December 31, 2015, 7:44 PM
Filed under: Adapting to Change, Wellness | Tags: , , , , ,

I last posted on this blog September 26th. I tripped on some brick steps in the middle of a workday on October 14th and while the resulting wrist break was ’cause for pause’ the additional discovery of Stage 4 lung cancer changed my life forever. With my arm in a cast and unable to type, I simply gave up on the blog until I could type again. The cast finally came off last week and it turns out that typing seems to be good physical therapy for the newly-healed bone. Then mid-day  on this New Year’s Eve, it occurred to me that THIS was probably a good day to return to something I enjoy doing, with the hopes that you’ll enjoy reading.

I’ll start by showing off the four big cabbages I harvested today from my plot in the community garden-perfect for tomorrow’s traditional New Year’s day, good-luck meal of Hoppin’ John and fried cabbage. If you’re not familiar with Hoppin’ John, it’s a rather spicy, Creole-tasting sacrament made with the perfect trifecta of onions, celery and peppers along with black-eyed peas, sausage, tomatoes, rice and greens, with a coin hidden in the pot to symbolize wealth in the coming year. Many people make this southern dish with greens (mostly collards) but I like to fry cabbage to go with my Hoppin’ John and nature provided her very best for this special occasion. Surely I will have a healthy and wealthy 2016!

cabbages

All of this is simply to say that, just as nature transformed my seeds into cabbage heads, and transformed my broken bone into a well-mended wrist once again, I have confidence that my cancer can and will be ‘cured’ and I’ll be able to make the transition from cancer patient to survivor.

Even though this blog will remain focused on ways that we can create a way of living that’s significantly more connected, more vibrant and more fulfilling than the one we find ourselves in today, I can’t simply ignore the transition that my body is currently going through. To that end, I plan to focus more on healthy ways that we can create that way of living. Without good health, we have nothing. I can honestly say that the fall, with broken wrist, was MY LUCKY BREAK. I was feeling very well prior to its’ discovery and without the trip to the ER the cancer may not have been diagnosed until months down the road. Months that I didn’t have to spare.

I am also editing this blog’s ‘About Page’ to include the words ‘and personal’.  Now is the time to take stock and to re-create our future in ways that are not based on cheap, plentiful and polluting oil but on localized food, sustainable energy sources, resilient local economies and an enlivened sense of community and personal well-being.

I wish you the best for the coming year and always.  Eating some greens and Hoppin’ John on New Year’s Day practically ensures that you will get your own ‘lucky break’ in 2016. Happy New Year everyone!

hoppin john

17 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So, so glad to see you back, Sam. Healthy New Year!

Comment by rlm98253

Sam it was always good to see your blogs come up, but this one is surely the best. I’m so glad you feel well enough to post again, and that your lucky break is healed enough to allow it. Blessings in disguise sometimes. I hope the new year is good to you and Michael. Your Hoppin John looks so good! Happy New Year.

Comment by sarasinart

Happy to see another blog post from you. Good health and abundance to you and Michael in 2016!

Comment by Mary. Brugh

Been missing you! Hard to be thankful for a broken bone but, in your case, it was surely a blessing. Wishing you more of the same for the new year.

Comment by Karen

Meaning more blessings, not more broken bones!!!

Comment by Karen

Truly missed reading your blog. So happy that your back at it. Have a Safe and Wonderful new year. See you in the garden.

Comment by Robert Senn

Oh, Sam–it is so good to hear from you again! I knew that you weren’t feeling well, but I had no idea what you were going through. (I didn’t come around because I was pretty sure you didn’t need whatever I had. . .much coughing, etc.) How did the broken wrist lead to finding stage 4 lung cancer? I’m just glad you’re back in circulation! So happy you are mending. Hope you get the coin!

Comment by Barbara

· Yes Sam, I do enjoy reading what you write here. And it’s good to hear your present focus:
“… this blog will remain focused on ways that we can create a way of living that’s significantly more connected, more vibrant and more fulfilling than the one we find ourselves in today, I can’t simply ignore the transition that my body is currently going through. To that end, I plan to focus more on healthy ways that we can create that way of living. Without good health, we have nothing. I can honestly say that the fall, with broken wrist, was MY LUCKY BREAK. I was feeling very well prior to its’ discovery and without the trip to the ER the cancer may not have been diagnosed until months down the road. Months that I didn’t have to spare.”

· I personally would like to hear whether yours is SCLC or NSCLC, and what treatment you’ve agreed-to.
David. http://davd.tripod.com/#DsPic
http://reocities.com/davd.geo/#earths I’m on Kawau Island Auckland NZ
davdATihug.co.nz http://davd.4t.com/-/021DsupportsBdownPath768hi.html
earth is our home. David’s life story on Avaaz: http://ow.ly/DtZbo

Comment by davdnz

Hello David! My cancer is called Adenocarcinoma and is NSCLC. It’s spread too far for radiation to help, so the only course I have is chemotherapy. I’m taking 2 different drugs and may have a 3rd added in a month, depending on my next catscan.

Cancer sucks,
Sam

Comment by simpleintn

How wonderful to see you are back to spreading wisdom and gratitude to all of us who’ve followed you! Miracles can and do happen.

Comment by Deanna

So glad to see you are back and doing so well. A very Happy and Healthy New Year!

Comment by Elizabeth (Betty) Berry

I love seeing all the positive good wishes and you definitely have ours as well. Do you remember the book by Joel Fuhrman that Dale and I sent you? It’s just the ticket for building up the immune system (which is what one needs when dealing with cancer, among other things).

Two things that concern me in your post in regard to actually eating a more healthy diet are 1) sausage (or any animal product) and 2) frying. Neither of those things is healthy and both are easy to replace.

Have you ever stir steamed cabbage? I just cut it up and steam it in a “frying” pan for a few minutes and them add a splash of tamari. It’s wonderful!!! And this works just as well with either cauliflower or celery.

If you’re interested in another view (besides Dr. Fuhrman’s), check out Neal Barnard–also a medical doctor–the head of PCRM (Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine).

Hugs to you both–from both of us:)

Comment by Sandy Aldridge

Hi Sandy, ‘fried cabbage’ is steamed first, then drained and added to a skillet that has a mist of cooking oil. It browns on the edges and is a good sub for my preferred (and learned from birth evidently) method of dousing it with a very generous blob of bacon grease. The sausage in my Hoppin’ John was SOYsage and UNlike bacon grease, not as good but a whole lot healthier. I’m trying hard to eat healthier with each passing day. But bacon grease…I’d kill for it. haha

Comment by simpleintn

I, too, rejoice in reading your words again, Sam. And you have me wondering what is fried cabbage? Sautéed cabbage? Cabbage reminds me of my playmate Nancy’s mother giving us salted wedges of raw cabbage for snacking on their back steps umpteen years ago. It was our favorite snack and talk about healthy… J

Comment by Jacqueline

Hi Sam, David suggested that LIM members read your blog. I’m so sorry to learn of your troubles, but I, too, believe you’ll be a cancer *survivor*!

We’re all OK here in Maine, it finally got cold as winter is supposed to. Our November and December were both incredibly warm (except the very last days of Dec.).

Pat Meadows

Comment by Pat Meadows

Yeah! So good to see you blogging again. Best of everything to you in this New Year.

Comment by Lee

Well Dang Sam, I assumed you were out slaying dragons somewhere and too busy to write. I suppose you were doing just that, a very personal dragon at that. So sorry to hear about the diagnosis. If there is anything (I mean it!) I can do, like weed your garden or shop for you or whatever, please say. And don’t stay gone so long! I missed you!! People will want to help. And we will all say stupid stuff to try and make you feel better. Please look at the intention behind it and forgive us all in advance. Namaste friend. I love you. Here if you need me.

Comment by Sara




Leave a Reply

